Energy Transition 2017

Strategies for a sustainable energy future

7 March at Clarion Hotel & Congress, Trondheim

The Energy Transition 2017 conference

  • Climate and energy scenarios towards 2050
  • Transition strategies towards a zero-emissions energy system
  • The role of fossil fuels and natural gas in 2030 and 2050
  • Funding the energy transition
  • The transport transition - Electrification and new concepts
  • Implications of Paris - How will NDCs affect the energy sector and industry?


Keynote videos

To view the full playlist containing the different keynote and panel discussion videos from ET2017, click the playlist icon on the upper left on the video screen.

Keynote presentations

See Keynote bios

See conference programme

Download programme (pdf - 1,2 MB)

Conference live stream

Watch the live video stream of the conference here from 9 am Tuesday 7 March.

Press accreditation

For the media: Please send a request for press accreditation to Nancy Bazilchuk (

Norwegian press: Contact Hege J. Tunstad

Conference organizers

FME CenSES logo, visit their website

Statoil logo, visit Statoil's website

NTNU logo, visit NTNU's website

Conference organization committee


See panelist bios

  • Terje Søviknes, Minister of Petroleum and Energy, Norway
  • Tom van Ierland, Head of Unit Strategy and Economic Assessment,  DG Climate Action, European Commission
  • Teresa Ponce de Leão, Vice-chair, European Energy Research Alliance/President of EuroGeoSurveys/President of LNEG
  • Margareth Øvrum, Executive Vice President, Statoil
  • Prof. Christian von Hirschhausen TU Berlin & DIW Berlin
  • Prof. Johan Hustad, Director,  Energy Strategic Area, NTNU
  • Eirik Wærness,  Senior Vice President and Chief Economist, Statoil
  • Charles Soothill, Vice-chair, Zero Emissions Platform
  • Nils Røkke, Executive Vice President, Sustainability, SINTEF
  • Carsten Jung, Lead, climate risk analysis, Bank of England
  • Egil Matsen, Deputy Governor, Norges Bank
  • Christopher Weber, Senior Analyst, 2° Investing Initiative
  • Jennifer Layke, Global Director, Energy Program, World Resources Institute
  • Prof. Ragnar Torvik, NTNU
  • State Secretary Lars Andreas Lunde
  • Jae Edmonds,  Joint Global Change Research Institute
  • Prof. Rosina Bierbaum, University of Maryland and University of Michigan
  • Charlotte Wolff-Bye, Vice President Sustainability, Statoil
  • Jürgen Tzschoppe, Executive Vice President, Statkraft

Invited expert group

See expert group bios

  • Jae Edmonds, Chief Scientist, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Carolyn Fischer, Senior fellow, Resources for the future
  • Prof. Steven Gabriel, University of Maryland
  • Rolf Golombek Frisch Centre, Director FME CREE.
  • Prof. Christian von Hirschhausen, TU Berlin, Director DIW Berlin.
  • Prof. Johan Hustad , Director Strategic area of  Energy, NTNU
  • Volker Krey, Deputy director, IIASA
  • Snorre Kverndokk, Senior Scientist, Frisch Centre
  • Prof. Reinhard Madlener, RWTH Aachen, Director Institute for Future Energy Consumer Needs and Behavior (FCN)
  • Prof. Mark O´ Malley, Director, UCD
  • Prof. Anders Hammer Strømman, NTNU
  • Frank O´Sullivan, Director, MIT
  • Ghassem Asrar, Director, Joint Global Change Research Institute, PNNL
  • Allen Fawcett, Chief, Climate Economics Branch, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, USA
  • Atsushi Kurosawa, Director, Global Environment Programs, The Institute of Applied Energy
  • Meredydd Evans, Scientist, Joint Global Change Research Institute, PNNL
  • Prof. Rosina Bierbaum, University of Maryland and University of Michigan 
  • Prof. Magnus Korpås, NTNU