Horizon 2020 projects


Active participation in the European Framework Programme for Research and Innovation is a main priority for the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). Partnering with leading academics in European projects strengthens the quality and relevance of NTNU's research.

Projects coordinated by NTNU in Horizon 2020 and the 7th Framework Programme (FP7):


Projects in Horizon 2020


INSULATRONICS – Controlling Electric Signals with Insulating Antiferromagnets and Insulating Ferromagnets
– Coordinator: Professor Arne Brataas


FOCUS – Factory of the Future Clusters
– Coordinator: Project Manager Odd Myklebust


ECCSEL – European Carbon Dioxide Capture and Storage Laboratory Infrastructure
– Coordinator: Professor Olav Bolland


Active implants – Engineering microstructures of functional ceramics for stimulated bone growth
– Coordinator: Professor Mari-Ann Einarsrud


SugarOsmoSignalling – Analysis of sugar- and osmo-signalling mechanisms in cell wall integrity maintenance
– Coordinator: Associate Professor Thorsten Hamann


MarineUAS – Autonomous Unmanned Aerial Systems for Marine and Coastal Monitoring
– Coordinator: Professor Tor Arne Johansen


AfricanBioServices – Linking biodiversity, ecosystem functions and services in the Great Serengeti-Mara Ecosystem (GSME) - drivers of change, causalities and sustainable management strategies
– Coordinator: Professor Eivin Røskaft



selfBACK – A decision support system for self-management of low back pain
– Coordinator: Professor Paul Jarle Mork


PreventIT – Early risk detection and prevention in ageing people by self-administered ICT-supported assessment and a behavioural change intervention delivered by use of smartphones and smartwatches
– Coordinator: Professor Jorunn Helbostad



CHiPS – Challenges in Preservation of Structure
– Coordinator: Professor Elena Celledoni



Projects in the 7th Framework Programme (7FP)



ICAP – Innovative CO2 capture
– Coordinator: Professor Hallvard F. Svendsen



REECOVER – Recovery of Rare Earth Elements from magnetic waste in the WEEE recycling industry and tailings from the iron ore industry
– Coordinator: Professor Gabriella Tranell


OCEAN-CERTAIN – Ocean Food-web Patrol – Climate Effects: Reducing Targeted Uncertainties with an Interactive Network
– Coordinator: Professor Yngvar Olsen



SPACEBRAIN – Space coding in hippocampo-entorhinal neuronal assemblies
– Coordinator: Professor Edvard I. Moser


OPTIMEX – Optimizing Exercise Training in Prevention and Treatment of Diastolic Heart Failure
– Coordinator: Professor Ulrik Wisløff



MACALO – Magneto Caloritronics
– Coordinator: Professor Arne Brataas


PRESIOUS – PREdictive digitization, reStoration and degradatIOn assessment of cultUral heritage objectS 
– Coordinator: Professor Theoharis Theoharis


GRIDMAP – Grid cells: From brains to technical implementation
– Coordinator: Professor Edvard I. Moser


INSPIN – Insulator Spintronics
– Coordinator: Professor Arne Brataas 


Nano - Materials - Production

FREECATS – Doped carbon nanostructures as metal-free catalysts
– Coordinator: Professor Magnus Rønning


IFACOM – Intelligent Fault Correction and self Optimizing Manufacturing systems
Coordinator: Project Manager Odd Myklebust


MODENA – Modelling of morphology Development of micro- and Nano Structures
– Coordinator: Professor Heinz A. Preisig


Research infrastructure

ECCSEL – European Carbon Dioxide Capture and Storage Laboratory Infrastructure
– Coordiantor: Chief Engineer Morten Grønli


ECCSEL PP2 – European Carbon Dioxide Capture and Storage Laboratory Infrastructure - Preparatory Phase 2
– Coordinator: Professor Sverre Quale


Science in society

S-TEAM – Science Teacher Education Advanced Methods
– Coordinators: Researcher Peter Gray / Professor Peter Van Marion


Marie Curie

CRISP – Collaborative Research in Structure Preservation
– Coordiantor: Professor Elena Celledoni


CREEP – Creep of Geomaterials
– Coordinator: Thomas Benz


LANPERCEPT – Language and Perception
– Coordinator: Professor Mila Vulchanova


TEMPO – Training in Embedded Predictive Control and Optimization
– Coordinator: Professor Tor Arne Johansen


COST network

European Cooperation in Science and Technology (COST) finances measures that promote academic cooperation and networking between scientists in 36 countries, among them Norway. COST is funded through Horizon 2020.


Populist Political Communication in Europe
Koordinator: Toril Aalberg


Tue, 10 May 2016 10:01:42 +0200