NTNU's Quota Scheme Agreements

The Norwegian Quota Scheme is a funding Scheme offered by the Norwegian Government to students from developing countries in the South and countries in the Western Balkans, Eastern Europe and in Central Asia.

For admission under the Quota Scheme, NTNU will only consider candidates with a connection to one of NTNU's formal cooperation agreements. If your institution is not on the list, NTNU does NOT have an agreement with your institution or the agreement has expired. To renew or initiate an agreement you need to contact your relevant department/faculty/school at your home institution.

Applicants will be asked to indicate that they belong to at least one of the following categories in the electronic preliminary application to be able to proceed with their application:

  1. Permanently employed at one of NTNU's collaborating institutions
  2. Temporary employed at one of NTNU's collaborating institutions
  3. Presently studying at one of NTNU's collaborating institutions
  4. Graduates with a first degree from one of NTNU's collaborating institutions

Please note that there are no Quota Scheme places at NTNU available to PhD students for the 2013-2014 academic year.


*Formal cooperation agreements
**Informal cooperation agreements (organizations, ministries, corporations etc.)


  • Azerbaijan State Oil Academy, Baku*
  • Baku Higher Oil School *


  • Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology*
  • University of Chittagong*
  • Bangladesh Petroleum Exploration and Production Company (BAPEX)**
  • Petrobangla**
  • Bangladesh Gas Field Co. Ltd.**
  • Geological Survey of Bangladesh**
  • Bangladesh Petroleum Institute**


  • Univ. Federal de Santa Catarina*
  • Univ. Estadual de Campinas*
  • Univ. de Brasilia*
  • Univ. Federal de Paraíba*
  • Univ. de São Paulo*
  • Univ.  Federal de Pernambuco*
  • Pontificia Univ. Catolica do Rio de Janeiro*


  • The University of Yaounde I*


  • China University of Petroleum*
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University*
  • XI'AN University of Architecture and Technology*
  • University of Science and Technology Beijing*
  • Central South University*
  • Tsinghua University*
  • University of Nottingham Ningbo*
  • Beijing University *
  • Renmin University*
  • Shandong University of Science and Technology*


  • Univ. San Francisco de Quito*


  • Addis Ababa University (AAU)*
  • Bahir Dar University*
  • Dilla University*
  • Hawassa University*
  • Mekele University*


  • University of Cape Coast*
  • University of Ghana*
  • University of Winneba*


  • Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur*
  • Indian Institute of Technology Madras*
  • University of Delhi*
  • University of Hyderabad*
  • School of Planning and Architecture, SPA, Delhi, India*
  • School of Planning and Architecture, SPA, Wijaywada, India*
  • Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies, Delhi, India*
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai*
  • Oil and National Gas Commission (ONGC)**
  • Central Water Commission Hydel Civil Eng. Directorate**
  • Delhi Development Authority (DDA), New Delhi**


  • Sepuluh Nopember Institute of Technology*
  • Institut Teknologi Bandung* 
  • Chevron Pacific Indonesia**


  • University of Malawi*


  • Kathmandu University*
  • Tribhuvan University*
  • Butwal Power Corporation (BPC)**
  • Himal Hydro & General Construction Ltd.**
  • Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA)**
  • Ministry of Water Resources**


  • University of UYO*

Palestinian Territory

  • Birzeit University*


  • Pontificia Univ. cat. Del Perú*


  • Gubkin Russian University of Oil and Gas*
  • The Far Eastern Federal University*

South- Africa

  • Stellenbosch University*
  • Univ. of KwaZulu Natal*
  • Univ. of Witwatersrand*


  • Univ. of Dar es Salaam*
  • University of Dodoma*
  • Tanzania Wildlife Research Institute**
  • Tanzania Petroleum Development Corp.**
  • Ministry of Energy & Minerals, geological Survey**
  • Sokoine University of Agriculture*


  • Makerere University*
  • Petroleum Exploration and Production Department, Entebbe**

Viet Nam

  • Nha Trang University*
  • Vietnam National University (HCMC)*
  • Research Institute for Aquaculture No. 1 **
  • Petrovietnam **


  • University of Zambia*
  • ZESCO (Zambia Electric Supply Co.)**