Catalysis (KinCat)


Saima Kazi in the catalysis lab. Photo: Geir Mogen/NTNU

The research and teaching in catalysis, reaction kinetics, petrochemistry and related subjects is organised in the Catalysis Group at the Department of Chemical Engineering, NTNU. This is the largest catalysis group in Norway and the main arena for education of PhD and MSc candidates for Norwegian industry and research institutes. The group consists of four permanents faculty members, approximately 20 PhD students and 5-10 postdoctoral fellows. Every year 10-15 MSc students graduate from the Catalysis Group.

The group is an integrated NTNU/SINTEF research laboratory where NTNU-staff collaborate and share facilities with researchers employed by the Oil and Gas Process Technology Department in SINTEF. This collaboration was recognised by NTNU and SINTEF as a Strong-Point Centre (1998) and is formalised through the KINCAT Gemini centre (NTNU/SINTEF twin research centre). Personnel from the two organisations work together and participate in teaching and research. The group participates extensively in international networks and has close collaboration with a number of universities and research groups inside and outside the EU. The research is funded by the Norwegian Research Council, EU, Norwegian and international industry and other sources, and spans from fundamental studies of ideal surfaces to studies of real catalysts and process development work in small pilot plants.

The Catalysis Group was a research partner in a Centre for Research-based Innovation (Innovative Natural Gas Processes and Products – inGAP) in the period 2007-2015.

Since 2015, the Catalysis Group is heading a new Centre for Research-based Innovation: industrial Catalysis Science and Innovation (iCSI)  – for a competitive and sustainable process industry. The main objective of iCSI is to boost industrial innovation and competitiveness as well as to provide efficient, low-emission process technology. The centre director is Professor Hilde J. Venvik.

Research areas




KinCat logo

Academic staff


Academic staff

Edd A. Blekkan, Professor

De Chen, Professor

Magnus Rønning, Professor

Hilde J. Venvik, Professor

Erling Rytter, Adjunct professor

Kjell Moljord, Adjunct professor

Anders Holmen, Professor emeritus

Jia Yang, Associate professor


Technical staff

Karin Wiggen Dragsten, Staff engineer