Background and activities

Mogens Blanke (1947) is Adjunct Professor at the Department of Engineering Cybernetics. He is a member of the research group for Motion Control Systems. Blanke has a MScEE in Automatic Control and a PhD from the Servolaboratory, Technical University of Denmark.

Scientific interests

Genereal area of research is in automation of systems. Specific theoretic interests comprise autonomous fault-tolerance, fault-diagnosis, systems architecture design to obtain desired safety properties, system modelling, identification and control. Application experience has been in the areas of spacecraft and marine systems and in autonomous robotics.

Work Experience

  • 2012- Adjunct Professor at AMOS, Institute of Technical Cybernetics, NTNU
  • 2006-2012 Adjunct Professor at CeSOS, NTNU
  • 2000- Full professor of Automatic Control at the Technical University of Denmark
  • 1990-2000 Professor, University of Aalborg, Institute for Electronic Systems, Dept. of Control Engineering. Chair of Automatic Control Systems
  • 1985-1990 General Manager for Marine Division at Søren T. Lyngsø AS, responsibilities including development of total ship integrated control systems: Danish Navy Standard Flex 300 Machinery and Autopilot Controls, Diesel Engine Governor for large diesel engines
  • 1981-1985 Associate Professor, DTH, Servolaboratory. Chairman of Institute 1980-83. Research interests system identification for nonlinear systems, ship control systems, automatic steering and propulsion systems

Rewards and Professional Achievements

  • 2012 Co-author of paper winning the Best Paper Award at the IFAC Conference MCMC`2012
  • 2009 Co-autho of paper winning the Best Paper Award at the IFAC Conference MCMC`2009
  • 2009 Finalist for ABB Best Applied Paper Award at Safeprocess `2009
  • 2001 Member of Danish Academy of Technical Sciences
  • 2000 Honorary visiting Professor at Dalian Maritime University, P.R. China
  • 1999 Aalborg City Springtime Award for Achievements of the Ørsted Satellite Attitude Control team
  • 1999 Ørsted Satellite Design Team Award
  • 1986 ESSO Price for Significant Contributions to Advanced Control of Ships and Diesel Engines
  • 1985 Senior member of Institution of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)
  • 1985 Radio Parts Grant

Professional Societies and Other

  • 1999-2001 Member IFAC Council
  • 1996-1999 Chairman for Doctoral School of Technology and Science at Aalborg University
  • 1996-1999 Chair IFAC Coordinating Committee on Transportation and Vehicles
  • 1994-1996 Chair IFAC Technical Committee on Marine Systems
  • 1987-1993 Chair IFAC Working Group on Automatic Control Applications in Marine Systems
  • 1987-1993 Member IFAC Applications Committee
  • 1982-1996 Board of Directors in Danish  Automation Society

Editor for International Journals

  • IEEE Transactions on Aerospace and Electronic Systems: Technical Editor for Fault-tolerant Systems
  • Associate Editor for Control Engineering Practice

Scientific, academic and artistic work

A selection of recent journal publications, artistic productions, books, including book and report excerpts. See all publications in the database

Journal publications