Spitsbergen 2014: Neural Networks in the Arctic

An open-atmosphere workshop that will explore how activity in complex neural networks gives rise to behaviour. 

From 5-10 June 2014, we will host a neural workshop in Longyearbyen, on the island of Spitsbergen at 79 degrees North.

Some of the world's very best researchers on neural networks and systems will gather to discuss fundamental principles of neural organization and function. The programme will focus on neural coding mechanisms in a variety of systems and species. The goal of the workshop is to create an open atmosphere in which new data can be shared and discussed freely in a collaborative spirit, under the eternal daylight of the Arctic – without videotaping, conference proceedings, or any other worries. After the conference, we will have a greater understanding of how activity in complex neural networks gives rise to behaviour.

This is the second meeting that we have organized in Longyearbyen. The first was in 2008 on hippocampal systems and was a great success. This time we want to extend the topic to encompass neural networks broadly, in all systems and species, while at the same time maintaining other aspects of the first workshop – the open atmosphere and the excitement of experiencing a unique part of the world together.

Confirmed Speakers

Larry Abbott, Columbia University
David Anderson, California Institute of Technology
Silvia Arber, Friedrich Miescher Institute
Richard Axel, Columbia University
Tobias Bonhoeffer, Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology
Michael Brecht, Humboldt University
Stanislas Dehaene, College de France
Winfried Denk, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research
Catherine Dulac, Harvard University
Florian Engert, Harvard University
Michael Hausser, University College London
Hopi Hoekstra, Harvard University
Sonja Hofer, Universität Basel
Liqun Luo, Stanford University
Markus Meister, Harvard University
Richard Morris, Edinburgh University
Edvard Moser, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
May-Britt Moser, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Bill Newsome, Stanford University
John O'Keefe, University College London
Bence Olveczky, Harvard University
Botond Roska, Friedrich Miescher Institute
Michael Shadlen, Columbia University
Carla Shatz, Stanford University
Nachum Ulanovsky, Weizmann Institute of Science
Leslie Vosshall, Rockefeller University


Confirmed Discussion Leaders

Rainer Friedrich, Friedrich Miescher Institute
Charles Gilbert, Rockefeller University
Ole Kiehn, Karolinska Institutet
Anthony Movshon, New York University
Erwin Neher, University of Göttingen
Marina Picciotto, Yale University
Steve Siegelbaum, Columbia University