Norwegian memory researchers receive Nansen Prize

(25.04.2013) The Fridtjof Nansen Award for excellence in science and medicine has been awarded to Norwegian University of Science and Technology Professors Edvard I. Moser and  May-Britt Moser for pioneering work in memory research.

Edvard and May-Britt Moser are director and co-director respectively at the Kavli InstitMay-Britt and Edvard Moserute for Systems Neuroscience / Centre for Neuronal Computation at NTNU.

The Fridtjof Nansen Award of Excellence is awarded to Norwegian researchers, or researchers resident in Norway, who has shown scientific contributions of international significance on a very high level. Prize winners receive a medal, a diploma and 150 000 Norwegian kroner. Winners of the Fridtjof Nansen Award for Young Scientists receive a diploma and 50 000 Norwegian kroner. It can be awarded to Norwegian researchers or scholars resident in Norway under the age of 40.

The Fridtjof Nansen Award for Young Scientists in 2013 is awarded to Professor Bård Harstad for his research in political economy. Bård Harstad is employed by the Department of Economics at the University of Oslo.

The awards are presented by the chairman of The Nansen Foundation and Affiliated Funds, Professor Gunnar Nicolaysen, on the Annual meeting of  on Friday 3 May 2013.