Researchers' Grand Prix

– 27 September 2018

NTNU's participants in Researchers' Grand Prix 2018

Participants Researchers' Grand Prix 2018

10 PhD Candidates will participate in the regional finals of the Researchers' Grand Prix 27 September 2018 at Byscenen in Trondheim.

From left: Sina Shaddel, Tina Louise Ringstad, Sigrid Johanne Husøy, Ida Malén Gabrielsen, Eva Madland, Sigrid Rønneberg, Nikolai Helth Gaukås, Theo L. Winther, Anders Lorentzen Kolstad, Aud Marit Wahl.

The participants present their research and topic for the Researchers' Grand Prix 2018 (in Norwegian)

The competition works like this

Researchers' Grand Prix is a fun, exciting and educational competition in research communication for PhD Candidates.

Several universities will host regional Researchers' Grand Prix competitions. The best research communicators selected in these regional competitions will meet in the national finals. The winner is then crowned as Norway’s best research communicator.

10 PhD Candidates at NTNU (in Norwegian) meet in the regional finals of Researchers' Grand Prix 27 September at byscenen in Trondheim. They are offered coaching and time to practice until the regional finals.

  • During this time, the participants learn to craft two short presentations on an aspect of their research.
  • During the shows, the participants have their chance to convince the audience and a panel of judges about their communication skills.
  • After each performance, the judges give each of the contestants immediate feedback and a score, and the audience vote.
  • The participants in the regional and national finals have four exciting minutes to excite and engage the audience and the judges.

The finals of the Researchers' Grand Prix 2018

The finals will take place at Driv in Tromsø, 29 September 2018.

Researchers' Grand Prix 2017

Meet the participants from the Researchers' Grand Prix 2017. They talk about what is happening when you sign up for the competition, about togetherness, exitement, learning and development. The video also shows clips from the regional finals at Byscenen 28 September 2017.

Watch the entire show at Byscenen – NRK2 Kunnskapskanalen (only available in Norway)

Researchers' Grand Prix, logo






Gunnar Kåre Hansen
Mobile: +47 915 66 365

Previous years

Researchers' Grand Prix 2017 (in Norwegian)
Axel Karl Gottfrid Nyman, NTNU, won inTrondheim
Torbjørn Øygard Skodvin, UiT, won the finals in Trondheim

Researchers' Grand Prix 2016 (in Norwegian)
Sofie Snipstad, NTNU, won i Trondheim
and the finals in Bergen

Researchers' Grand Prix 2015 (in Norwegian)
Armend Gazmeno Haati, NTNU, won in Trondheim
Cecilie G. Gjerde, UiB, won the finals in Trondheim

Researchers' Grand Prix 2014 (in Norwegian)
Arne Skulberg, NTNU, won in Trondheim
and the finals in Oslo

Researchers' Grand Prix 2013 (in Norwegian)
Eirik Bøckmann, NTNU, won in Trondheim
Silja T. Griffiths, UiB, won the finals in Oslo

Researchers' Grand Prix 2012 (in Norwegian)
Hanne Nøvik, NTNU, won in Trondheim
Kajsa Møllersen, UiT, won the finals in Tromsø

Researchers' Grand Prix 2011 (in Norwegian)
Siv Gøril Brandtzæg, NTNU, won in Trondheim
Audun Hetland, UiT, won the finals in Bergen

Researchers' Grand Prix 2010 (in Norwegian)
Ida Aglen, NTNU, won in Trondheim
and the finals in Bergen