Sociology - One-Year Programme

– About the programme

Sociology. Photo: Kim Ramberghaug

The language of instruction is Norwegian.

The one-year programme in sociology consists of four courses which are equivalent to 15 credits each (60 credits in total).

Sociology is the science of patterns and processes in society, and it focuses on how people influence each other and thereby contribute to the shaping of the small and large communities they belong to. Sociologist study a person's situation and development under different social conditions, and the relations within and between groups, organizations, institutions and societies.

The one-year programme in sociology may be included as part of the bachelor's programme in political science or as elective courses in other bachelor's programmes within the social sciences.

Contact information

Visiting address:
Department of Sociology and Political Science
NTNU, Dragvoll
Building 9, level 5

Telephone: + 47 59 17 04
Fax: + 47 73 59 15 64

Postal address:
Department of Sociology and Political Science
NO-7491 Trondheim

Language of instruction: Norwegian

Duration: One year, 60 ECTS
Programme code: ÅSOS
Application code: 194 240

Faculty of Social and Educational Sciences
Department of Geography

City: Trondheim
Application deadline: 15th April

This information applies to the current academic year

Contact us

Telephone: +47 73 59 77 00

Postal address:
Student and Academic Division
Admissions Office
N-7491 Trondheim