Master's Degree programme, 2 years

(MSc in) Hydropower Development

– Programme components

The first year consists of a series of 6 foundational courses and a larger group project where the students apply knowledge from the other courses by conducting a pre feasibility study of the development alternatives in a Norwegian river system. This involves learning how to combine techniques, environment and economy to secure success.

The final year consists of four compulsory advanced courses in the autumn, while the entire spring semester is dedicated to the master's thesis. Our lecturers have international experience and are recruited from NTNU and the international hydropower environment.

Regarding the master's thesis, there are numerous options, and most students choose their topic within areas where NTNU offers special qualifications such as:

  • planning of a hydropower project
  • hydrology
  • hydraulics
  • sediment transport
  • engineering geology
  • plant engineering

It is also possible to write the thesis in connection with projects abroad. For International students the thesis work will usually be linked to projects in the home country.





7,5 stp

7,5 stp

7,5 stp

7,5 stp


Master's thesis - Rock Engineering / Hydropower Development


Prefeasibility Study in Hydropower Development

Hydrological Modelling

Water Recourses Mangament

Headworks and Sedimentation Engineering


Engineering Geology of Rocks, Advanced Course

Economic Assessment of Hydropower Projects

Planning of Hydropower

Experts in Teamwork



Planning and Design of Dams

Hydraulic Design

Engineering Geology and Tunnelling, Basic Course

For an overview of the courses please see the study plan for Hydropower Development (MSc). The published courses may be subject to potential changes. Students should always consult the study plan.

Mon, 03 Apr 2017 10:06:55 +0200

Study plan

For more information regarding the courses:

Consult with the study plan for Hydropower Development

Courses A to Z

Credit system

The credit system used by NTNU, is based on a workload of 60 credits for each academic year. This corresponds to The European Credit Transfer System credits (ECTS). The ECTS system facilitates student mobility and international curriculum development, and is a system based on the student workload required to achieve the objectives of a study programme.
» NTNU's Grading and Credit System.