Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

Coastal and Marine Engineering and Managment - CoMEM

Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

Please note for the 2018-2020 cohort the CoMEM consortium will not offer Erasmus Mundus Scholarships., applications from self-financed students are welcome.

Scholarship amounts (for applicants 2013-2017):

Programme Country student scholarships:                € 35 000

Partner Country student scholarships:      € 47 000 / € 49 000

Defintions: Programme and Partner countries 

Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus Scholarships for Students


A limited number of Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus scholarships are available for students accepted to CoMEM. The CoMEM universities select candidates in a competitive process from among eligible applicants, and forward the names to the European Commission for approval under the Erasmus+ Programme. Please note that candidates DO NOT apply directly to the Commission for funding. All applications are to be made directly to the CoMEM programme through the Coordinating University, NTNU. The process and basis for a receiving a scholarship is: 1) application 2) acceptance to the programme and then 3) selection for a scholarship.

Candidates who are awarded an Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus scholarship are required to complete the entire 2-year long CoMEM program, and will receive their degrees only upon completion of the full program. Completion of year 1 alone, for instance, will not be recognized with a degree.

Eligibility forErasmus+: Erasmus Mundus scholarships
There are two types of scholarship offered by the European Commission:
Programme and Partner (includes Geographical specific areas) country students. 

In order for a Partner country student to be eligible for this category they must not have been a resident of  nor have carried out their main activity (studies, work, etc.) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in Programme countries. If the student has then their application will be considered as a Programme country applicant.

NOTE: At least two of the countries visited during the Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus  Master Course studies must be different from the country in which the scholarship holder has obtained his/her last university degree. If a student holding a scholarship attends a semester at a partner institution that is the same country as the students country of residence scholarship restrictions apply for this semester and only partial scholarship payment will be made.

Individuals who have already benefited from anErasmus+ (or equivalent) scholarship are not eligible for a second scholarship in order to follow the same or another Erasmus+ Master Course.

Students benefiting from an Erasmus+ scholarship cannot benefit from another EU grant while pursuing their Erasmus+ masters studies.

Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus scholarships are awarded exclusively for full-time enrolment.

Financial conditions
The value of the scholarships is as described above.

CoMEM participation cost are € 9,000 per academic year (18,000 total for two years) for Partner Country students; and € 4,500 per academic year (9,000 total for two years) for Programme Country students.

On the basis of a written agreement, the applicable fee is directly deducted by the Consortium from the students' Erasmus Mundus scholarships. The remainder of the scholarship is paid to the students in monthly instalments.

Candidates who wish to be considered for an Erasmus+ scholarship must indicate this in both the online application form and the additional CoMEM specific pdf application form.

Scholarship applicants must provide all relevant information for the consortium to determine scholarship category, particularly information on citizenship and residence in the past five years.

Applicants to be considered for an Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus scholarship may apply for no more than two other Erasmus+: Erasmus Mundus programmes in addition to CoMEM. In case a student applies to more than three Erasmus Mundus programmes he/she will be excluded from the selection for an Erasmus+ Scholarship.




26 May 2020 Pia Kristin Østeraas