Background and activities

Last published Journal Articles


  • Intestinal-epithelial LSD1 controls goblet cell differentiation and effector responses required for gut immunity to bacterial and helminth infection. Naveen Parmar; Kyle Burrows; Pia Vornewald; Håvard T. Lindholm; Rosalie T. Zwiggelaar; Alberto Díez-Sanchez; Mara Martín-Alonso; Madeleine Fosslie; Bruce Vallance; John Arne Dahl; Colby Zaph; Menno Johannes Oudhoff. PlosPathogens. 2021 March31.


  • Il4ra -independent vaginal eosinophil accumulation following helminth infection exacerbates epithelial ulcerative pathology following HSV-2 infection. Alisha Chetty; Matthew G Darby; Pia M Vornewald; Mara Martín-Alonso; Anna Filz; Manuel Ritter; Henry J McSorley; Lindi Masson; Katherine Smith; Frank Brombacher; Matthew K O'Shea; Adam F Cunningham; Bernhard Ryffel; Menno J Oudhoff; Benjamin G Dewals; Laura E Layland; William Horsnell. Cell Host and microbe. 2021. April, 21; 29(4)


  • LSD1 represses a neonatal/reparative gene program in adult intestinal epithelium. Rosalie Zwiggelaar*, Håvard Lindholm*, Madeleine Fosslie, Marianne Pedersen, Yuki Ohta, Alberto Diez-Sanchez, Mara Martín-Alonso, Jenny Ostrop, Mami Matano, Naveen Parmar, Emilie Kvaløy, Roos Spanjers, Kamran Nazmi, Morten Rye, Finn Drabløs, Cheryl Arrowsmith, John Arne Dahl, Kim Jensen, Toshiro Sato, Menno J. Oudhoff. *Authors with equal contribution. Sci Adv. 2020 Sep 11;6(37).



  • MT4-MMP deficiency increases patrolling monocyte recruitment to early lesions and accelerates atherosclerosis. Cristina Clemente, Cristina Rius, Laura Alonso-Herranz, Mara Martín-Alonso, Ángela Pollán, Emilio Camafeita, Fernando Martínez, Rubén A. Mota, Vanessa Núñez, Cristina Rodríguez, Motoharu Seiki, José Martínez-González, Vicente Andrés, Mercedes Ricote & Arroyo AG. Nat Commun 2018 March 9, 910.



  • E-cadherin cleavage by MT2-MMP regulates apical junctional signaling and epithelial homeostasis in the intestine. Gómez-Escudero J,* Moreno V,*, Martín-Alonso M, Feinberg T, Hernández de Riquer MV, Colmenar A, Calvo E, Camafeita E, Martínez F, Oudhoff MJ, Weiss SJ, and Arroyo AG. J Cell Sci. 2017 Dec 1;130(23):4013-4027. *Authors with equal contribution.


This work resulted in a Cover picture of the issue, taken by me, of an organoid knockdown for MT2-MMP (MMP15).


  • Deficiency of MMP17/MT4-MMP proteolytic activity predisposes to aortic aneurysm in mice. Martín- Alonso M, García-Redondo AB, Guo D, Camafeita E, Martínez F, Alfranca A, Méndez-Barbero N, Pollán Á, Sánchez-Camacho C, Denhardt DT, Seiki M, Vázquez J, Salaices M, Redondo JM, Milewicz D, Arroyo AG. Circ Res. 2015 Jul 3;117(2):e13-26.


Articles under revision (and on BioRxiv doi: )


  • Smooth muscle-specific MMP17 (MT4-MMP) defines the intestinal ECM niche. Mara Martín-Alonso*, Håvard T. Lindholm# , Sharif Iqbal#, Pia Vornewald#, Sigrid Hoel, Mirjam J. Damen, A.F.Maarten Altelaar, Pekka Katajisto, Alicia G. Arroyo, Menno J. Oudhoff*
  • Authors with equal contribution. *Corresponding authors.