Master's degrees

The master’s degree is the higher Norwegian university degree at graduate level. There are two types of master’s degrees at NTNU.

  • 2-year master’s of 120 credits that builds on a bachelor’s degree.
    In the arts, social sciences, music and fine art this is called Master of Arts (abbreviated MA) in English. There is also a Master of Philosophy degree (abbreviated MPhil). In the natural sciences the equivalent degree is called Master of Science (abbreviated MSc) in English. In technology, students with a bachelor’s degree from Norwegian university colleges or equivalent institutions abroad, enter a 2-year MSc programme. 
  • 5-year integrated master’s.
    This requires 300 credits and is based on full-time study from matriculation. There is both a Master of Arts degree (abbreviated MA) that combines language disciplines, social sciences, and pedagogical training and a Master of Science degree (abbreviated MSc) in the natural sciences, technology and architecture. The Norwegian degrees Master i teknologi/Master i arkitektur (previously called sivilingeniør/sivilarkitekt) are translated as Master of Science. The field of specialization is often added. Example: Master of Science in Marine Technology (abbreviated MSc in Marine Technology).

    Because of the length, intensity and associated thesis requirements, NTNU’s integrated 5-year master’s degrees closely correspond to the Anglo-American master’s degree. There is no Norwegian equivalent to Anglo-American undergraduate degrees in architecture and engineering. Thus, NTNU students in engineering and architecture students who apply to universities abroad as an exchange/non-degree visiting students are regarded by NTNU to be undergraduate students in their first, second and third years, and graduate students in their fourth and fifth years. This means that fourth-year students at NTNU taking engineering or architecture do not yet have a degree from NTNU but the transcript of records from NTNU documents their academic progress.