Department of Social Anthropology

The Department of Social Anthropology at NTNU was established in 1975. Today we have a staff of 11 permanent researchers, 2 working in the administration and 13 PhD-scholars.

The department offers study programmes at all levels - bachelor's degree, master's degree and PhD-degree. The department is also host of the Programme for African Studies, a multidisciplinary programme with teaching on bachelor level.

Current research and teaching at the department covers a wide variety of subjects. In addition to classical anthropology, themes such as anthropology of organizations, colonialism/postcolonialism, themes concerning the body and understanding of illnesses, and Homo Faber - the tool using man, are central.

Research Network established at the Department: Community of Organizational Anthropology


Wed, 13 Apr 2016 15:39:57 +0200