Samcot Partners

SAMCoT Partners

SAMCoT Bodies

A Centre for Research-based Innovation (CRI - SFI)

The CRI scheme promotes innovation by supporting long-term research through close cooperation between R&D intensive companies and prominent research institutions. The main objective for the CRIs is to enhance the capability of the business sector to innovate by focusing on long-term research based on forging close alliances between research-intensive enterprises and prominent research groups.

SAMCoT started its activities on April 2011 and is expected to operate until 2019. All SAMCoT partners have in common their international relevance to Arctic Research. SAMCoT's Governance Structure has helped to organize it activities to gain more knowledge of the Arctic. SAMCoT's research achievements promote the development of innovative technical solutions that the industry needs.


SAMCoT Board


A decision making body and shall report to and be held accountable to the General Assembly.

  • Øystein Braathen (Equinor)
  • Berit Laanke (SINTEF)
  • Erik Holtar (AkerBP)
  • Espen Gjørv (Lundin)
  • Fred Skancke Hansen (UNIS)
  • Hilde Benedikte Østlund (Kværner)
  • Ingvald Strømmen (NTNU)
  • Ole-Christian Ekeberg (DNV GL)
  • Robert Bridges (TOTAL)

Kimberly Mayes Research Council of Norway RCN (observer)
Sveinung Løset (SAMCoT Centre Manager, Secretary of Board)
Andrea Nilsen (SAMCoT Centre Coordinator, Secretary of Board)



The CMG is the operative body for the execution of the SAMCoT.

  • Aleksey Marchenko (UNIS)
  • Knut Høyland (NTNU)
  • Andrea Nilsen (NTNU)
  • Raed Khalil Lubbad (NTNU)
  • Roger Skejtne (NTNU)
  • Sveinung Løset (NTNU)


EIAC - Exploitation and Innovation Advisory Committee

Monitors Project Results with respect to potential for commercial exploitation, and proposes further development in separate spin-off innovation projects.

  • Edmond Hansen (Multiconsult)
  • Erik Holtar (AkerBP)
  • Espen Gjørv (Lundin)
  • Ole-Christian Ekeberg (DNVGL)
  • Sergiy Sukhorukov (Kværner)
  • Robert Bridges (TOTAL)
  • Lisbeth-Ingrid Alnas (SINTEF)
  • Sigurd Henrik Teigen (Statoil)
  • Sveinung Løset (NTNU)
  • Torbjørn Hals (Kongsberg Maritime)


SAC - Scientific Advisory Committee

Provides the necessary research quality assurance.

  • Prof. Anatoly Brouchkov (Moscow State University)
  • Prof. Erland M. Schulson (Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth) - Chair
  • Prof. Hayley H. Shen (Clarkson University)
  • Prof. Matti Leppäranta (University of Helsinki)
  • Dr. Robert Frederking (National Research Council of Canada)
  • Prof. Steve Bruneau (Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • Prof. Knut Vilhelm Høyland (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)