<h1 class="display-custom pb-4">Programme structure</h1>

Petroleum Engineering (Master's Programme) and Petroleum Geosciences (Master's Programme)

Programme structure

  MSc in Petroleum Engineering and MSc in Petroleum Geosciences will be replaced by MSc in Geoscience and Georesources from the academic year 2023/24. Read about and find information about MSc in Geoscience and Georesources.

MSc in Petroleum Engineering and MSc in Petroleum Geosciences extends over two academic years and constitutes a course load of 120 ECTS credits.

  • First and second semester consists of compulsory and elective courses.
  • In the third semester you specialise further through elective courses and specialisation project.
  • In the fourth and final semester you write your master thesis.

You can choose between the following specialisations:

Petroleum Engineering (MSG1):

  • Reservoir Engineering and Petrophysics
  • Petroleum Production
  • Drilling Engineering

Petroleum Geosciences (MSG2):

  • Petroleum Geophysics
  • Petroleum Geology

For an overview of the mandatory and elective courses consult the study plans:

Study plan Petroleum Engineering

Study plan Petroleum Geosciences