Programmes of study

Bachelor's, Master's and PhD programmes in Physics

Department of Physics teaches physics courses customised for the different study programmes at NTNU. The physics courses cover a wide range of subjects within experimental and theoretical physics.

The department have modern laboratory facilities and during the physics studies our students will be doing assignments involving use of advanced equipment. In project work and on the Master's Thesis the students have the opportunity to make use of research laboratories. The following programmes of study are closely connected to Department of Physics.

Master of science in technology

Advanced engineering/Master's degree programme, 5 years

Applied Physics and Mathematics (MTFYMA)

Specialisation: Applied Physics and Biophysics and Medical technology

Nanotechnology (MTNANO)

Natural science programmes

Bachelor's degree programme, 3 years

Physics (BFY)

Autumn 2013 the Master in Physics programme (MFY) became replaced by MSc in Physics (MSPHYS)

Master's degree programme, 5 years

Natural Science with teacher education (MLREAL)  (in co-operation with the IME-faculty)

International master's degree programme

Master's degree programme, 2 years

MSc in Physics (MSPHYS)

Project assignments and Master's theses

Proposal for specialization project

Master theses and project assignments at Department of physics (Intranet)

NumFysNumFys is a computational resource of Python scripts covering many topics in physics