PhD in Chemistry

Faculty of Natural Sciences

PhD in Chemistry

PhD candidate in the lab doing an experiment. Photo

PhD programme in Chemistry

About the programme

The Department of Chemistry carries out both basic (or curiosity-driven) research and applied research within the following disciplines: organic chemistry, theoretical chemistry as well as studies in environmental and analytical chemistry. Project within medical technology, energy conversion, nano-technology, marine chemistry and polar chemistry represents some examples of our multidisciplinary research topics.

Research groups at the Department of Chemistry

Research groups at the Department of Chemistry

Research Groups

Environmental and Analytical Chemistry

We study the behaviour of chemical compounds in nature - air, water, soil and food chains. Much of this work is related to pollution from local sources - further distributed globally.

Organic Chemistry

Organic chemistry is the study of the structure, properties, and reactions of organic compounds and organic materials. Organic compounds form the basis of all earthly life, and they are used in a range of products such as fuels, plastics, pharmaceuticals, food, explosive materials, and paints

Theoretical Chemistry

A theoretical chemist is a person who wants to understand the structure, movement and reactions of molecules. In theoretical chemistry, we want to find equations and quantitative measures for what we observe.


Thermodynamics is the science of energy conversion, especially the relationship between heat and work. This field of study formulated the working principles of many renewable energy technologies, on the macro- as well as nano-level, where work is created from chemical energy and heat.


SFI/Centre for Research-based Innovation

More information about research at the Department of Chemistry

PhD education

PhD education

A Philosophiae doctor degree (PhD) is the highest level of formalized education in Norway. The goal of a PhD education is to enable the candidate to conduct original research at a high international level.

The PhD degree is awarded after examination of a thesis. The original contribution to knowledge required of candidates must be consistent with at least three years of supervised research and significant parts of the work should be worthy of publication at international levels.

The PhD candidate will be able to solve complex research problems independently using creative solutions that will have a social and economic impact on society.


PhD chemistry


Degree: Philosophiae doctor (PhD)
Duration: 3 years, 180 ECTS
Programme code: PHKJ
Language of instruction: English

City: Trondheim, Norway
Faculty of Natural Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Contact person:
Lise Skorstad

Useful PhD links

Blog posts about PhD studies


My PhD - Blog posts

- Technology and natural sciences