Materials Synthesis and Ceramic processing

Our research group has a long tradition on materials synthesis and ceramics processing and more recently also the preparation of nanostructured materials.

High quality ceramic powders are the basis for all further ceramics processing and we have over the last decades developed powder processing routes mainly based on wet chemical synthesis. To prepare the further ceramic bodies, consolidation is based on pressing, colloidal processing including tape casting as well as plastic shaping methods like extrusion. Central in our activities for a long time has also been the understanding of sintering and microstructural development during ceramics processing and later on also the preparation of highly textured materials. Nanocrystalline ceramics are developed using hot pressing and spark plasma sintering.

Our materials synthesis program includes: sol-gel synthesis, spray pyrolysis, hydrothermal synthesis, molten salt synthesis, combustion and chemical solution deposition. Nanostructured materials include the development of synthesis routes for nanoparticles, nanorods and tubes, hierarchical structures and composite materials.

The clean room and laboratory facilities at NTNU NanoLab are central in our materials synthesis work. The spin-off company CerPoTech was established in October 2007.

The main activities include:

  1. Oxide powder processing
  2. Hydrothermal and molten salt synthesis of well-defined oxide particles
  3. Colloidal processing of asymmetric membranes
  4. Development of templates and texturing of ceramic materials
  5. Oxide films by chemical solution deposition
  6. Development of nanostructured materials and nanocrystalline ceramics.
  7. Si nanoparticles by homogeneous solution based reactions. 

SEM of powder and sintered ceramic, and a spray pyrolysis furnace.

 Dense membrane on a porous support, Vanesa Gil.

Methods for growing one-dimensional nanostructures.

Epitaxial, ordered PbTiO3 nanorods grown hydrothermally on SrTiO3.

Selected recent publications:


T. O. L. Sunde, M.-A. Einarsrud and T. Grande
Solid state sintering of nano-crystalline indium tin oxide
J. Eur. Ceram. Soc. 33 (2013) 565–574.

V. Gil, R. A. Strøm, L. J. Groven and M.-A. Einarsrud
La28−xW4+xO54+3x/2 Powders Prepared by Spray Pyrolysis
J. Am. Ceram. Soc. 95 (2012) 3403-3407.

H. Zhou, M.-A. Einarsrud and F. Vullum-Bruer
PVA-assisted combustion synthesis and characterization of porous nanocomposite Li2FeSiO4/C
Solid State Ionics 225 (2012) 585-589.

M. H. Balci, J. Maria, F. Vullum-Bruer, M. Lindgren, T. Grande and M.-A. Einarsrud
Synthesis of Monodisperse Silicon Quantum Dots Through a K-Naphthalide Reduction Route
J. Cluster Sci. 23 (2012) 421-435.

M Weirich, J. Gurauskis, V. Gil, K. Wiik and M.-A. Einarsrud
Preparation of lanthanum tungstate membranes by tape casting technique
Int. J. Hydrogen Energy 37 (2012) 8056–8061.

G. E. Syvertsen, C. Estournes, H. Fjeld, R. Haugsrud, M.-A. Einarsrud and T. Grande
Spark Plasma Sintering and Hot Pressing of Hetero-Doped LaNbO4
J. Am. Ceram. Soc. 95 (2012) 1563-1571.

T. O. L. Sunde, E. Garskaite, B. Otter, H. E. Fossheim, R. Sæterli, R. Holmestad, M.-A. Einarsrud and T. Grande
Transparent and conducting ITO thin films by spin coating of an aqueous precursor solution
J. Mater. Chem., 2012,22, 15740-15749

P. M Rørvik, T. Grande and M.-A. Einarsrud
One-dimensional nanostructures of ferroelectric perovskites (Review article)
Adv. Mater. 23 (2011) 4007-4034.

F. Madaro, J. Tolchard, Y. Yu, M.-A. Einarsrud and T. Grande
Synthesis of anisometric KNbO3 and K0.5Na0.5NbO3 single crystals by chemical conversion of non-perovskite templates
Cryst. Eng. Comm. 13 (2011) 1350-1359.

F. Madaro, R. Sæterli, J. R. Tolchard, M.-A. Einarsrud, R. Holmestad and T. Grande
Molten salt synthesis of K4Nb6O17, K2Nb4O11 and KNb3O8 crystals with needle- or platelike morphology
Cryst. Eng. Comm. 13 (2011) 1304-1313.

About us

Contact persons:

Professor Mari-Ann Einarsrud
Phone: +47 73 59 40 02

Professor Tor Grande
Phone: +47 73 59 40 84

Professor Kjell Wiik
Phone: +47 73 59 40 82

Assoc. Prof. Hilde Lea Lein
Phone: +47 73 55 08 80

 Assoc. Prof. Fride Vullum-Bruer
Phone: +47 73 59 39 76

Assoc. Prof. Sverre M. Selbach
Phone: +47 73 59 40 99

Assoc. Prof. Maria Benelmekki
Phone: +47 73 59 40 05

Assoc. Prof. Dennis Meier
Phone: +47 73 59 40 47


Assoc. Prof. Sondre K. Schnell
Phone: +47 45 27 54 63

Visiting address:
Sem Sælandsvei 12

Postal address:
Inorganic Chemistry and Ceramics Research Group
att: Mari-Ann Einarsrud
Department of Materials Science and Engineering