About the Department

Department of Public Health and Nursing

About the Department

A building

The Department of Public Health and Nursing (ISM) is responsible for research, teaching, innovation and communication within the fields of community medicine, nursing science, general practice and applied public health. 

The Department’s activities within teaching and research relate to the challenges and realities of primary health services. This comprises specialties like general practice; clinical nursing homes; occupational and social medicine; health services and welfare work; communication in health care; epidemiology; health promotion and prevention; welfare technology; global health and medical ethics.   

The Nord-Trøndelag Health Study (HUNT) is a part of the department. HUNT became a part of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) in 2001. HUNT4, the fourth health study, will be carried out in 2017-18.  

K.G. Jebsen Center for Genetic Epidemiology is a part of the department.  


Structure and history 

The Department of Public Health and Nursing was established on January 1 2017. It consists of the former Department of General Practice, the Department of Nursing Science and some parts of the Department of Social Work and Health Science.  

The Department is one of seven Departments at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). We have approximately 340 employees, 1000 nursing students, 150 students in our master's degree programmes and 125 PhD candidates. The 675 students enrolled in Professional Studies in Medicine at the Faculty also receive some of their education from our department during different levels of their training.  

The Department is co-located with the nursing home Øya Helsehus and at St. Olavs Hospital, Trondheim's University Hospital. Cooperation with Trondheim municipality and other municipalities in the region regarding education and research is also important to us.

05 Nov 2019



  ism-post@mh.ntnu.no

  Management

 Employees


Visiting address: 
Øya Helsehus, Mauritz Hanssens gate 2
Samfunnsmedisinbygget, Håkon Jarls gt.11

Postal address: NTNU, Fakultet for medisin og helsevitenskap, Institutt for samfunnsmedisin og sykepleie, Postboks 8905, N-7491 Trondheim, Norway