Department of Interdisciplinary Studies of Culture


The Department of Interdisciplinary Studies of Culture is an interdisciplinary unit with a staff that covers several humanities and social sciences.
The department's employees are engaged in several major national and international research projects. A large part of this research is funded by The Research Council of Norway, or other external funding. Several of the projects have broad interdisciplinary collaboration with experts in medicine, science and technology.
Presently, the department has a staff of about 40, of which the majority is doctoral or postdoctoral research fellows.

Mon, 05 Dec 2016 12:52:01 +0100

How to reach us

Phone: +47 73 59 17 88
Visiting address: Building 11, level 5, Dragvoll University Centre

Postal address:

Department of Interdisciplinary Studies of Culture, NTNU. NO-7491, Trondheim, Norway

Academic staff



The department's research areas has its origins two research centers, Centre for Women's Research and Centre for Technology and Society which were merged in 1999 to form the department.

Follow this link to read more about our research


The department offers two master's degrees (taught in Norwegian) and has the main responsibility for a PhD programme in Interdisciplinary Studies of Culture.

Follow this link to read more about our studies.

List of employees

Head of Department:

Professor Margrethe Aune
Phone: +47 73591898

Head of Office:

Kari Bergheim
Phone: +47 73598211