Department of Design

Faculty of Architecture and Design

Department of Design

Promotional video


The word 'design' covers a fairly wide range of activities, professions and disciplines. We tend to say "put 10 designers around a table and you get 20 opinions on what design really is." At NTNU we have a quite clear image of what we want to stand for: contribute to creating a better world, not only through knowledge, but also through its application, with focus on the link between technology and the human individual as user, consumer or stakeholder. Technology can be anything from digital to material, a person can be regarded as individual or as part of a group or community, and the link can be between products, services or systems.

The Department of Design (ID) was established on January 1st, 2017 as the result of the merger between NTNU and three university colleges. The department today consists of two groups which are about the same size: one at Gløshaugen campus in Trondheim and one in Gjøvik. The group in Trondheim is responsible for a 5-year integrated master degree in Industrial Design, a 2-year International Master in Industrial Design, as well as a doctoral program (PhD) in Industrial Design. The group in Gjøvik has responsibility for three Bachelor programs in graphic design, web development and interaction design, and a 2-year master's degree in interaction design, as well as a one year program in web design.

The Department of Design is part of the Faculty of Architecture and Design.