NTNU Energy Transition is established in order to build a world leading research programme focused on strategies for the transition to a future sustainable energy system. Our research objective is to explore different alternatives for the future energy mix and corresponding transition pathways that may lead us to a low carbon society.

  • Focus on excellent Research and Education linked to energy transition strategies
  • Establish a multidisciplinary International network
  • Involve partners from industry and government


NTNU is involved in several long-term centres of excellence within the energy field, funded by the Norwegian Research Council´s program as Centres for Environmentally Friendly Energy (FME).

  • Energy policy and long term scenarios
  • Innovation and etrepreneurship
  • Sustainability and climate
  • Energy markets: Design and operation of energy markets
  • Human behaviour
  • Energy systems: System integration, storage, technology

Read more about research


International network