Norwegian University of science and Technology

NTNU - facts and figures

As of January 1, 2016 NTNU merged with the University College in Sør-Trøndelag, the University College in Gjøvik and the University College in Ålesund. The decision regarding the new faculty/departmental structure will be made in the spring of 2016.

Organization, budget and employees

  • 14 faculties and 70 departments.
  • Annual budget NOK 7.6 billion
  • 6700 person-years, of which 4053 are in academic or scientific positions and 39 per cent are women.
  • Close cooperation with SINTEF, an R&D organization with 1800 employees (both co-located with NTNU in Trondheim, and in Oslo).
  • Facilities (owned or rented) totalling 734 000 m2.


  • Specialization in technology and the natural sciences.
  • Also offers a range of bachelor's, master's and doctoral programmes in the humanities, social sciences, economics, health sciences, education science, and aesthetic disciplines.
  • Professional degree programmes in medicine, psychology, architecture, the fine arts, music, and teacher education, in addition to technology.
  • 39 000 students, of which half study technology and the natural sciences.
  • 6000 participants in further education programmes.
  • About 6 500 bachelor's and master's degrees awarded each year.
  • About 3 000 international students.
  • Dozens of international student exchange programmes and more than 300 cooperative or exchange agreements with 60 universities worldwide.

Research, business and innovation

  • About 380 doctoral degrees awarded annually (44 % women).
  • More than 100 laboratories.
  • Coordinator for 19 projects in the European Commission's 7th Framework Programme and seven in Horizon 2020.
  • Sponsorship and cooperation agreements with Norwegian and international business and industry.
  • The NTNU University Library has 17 branches, 2 million printed volumes, 950 000 electronic books, 16 000 electronic journals, 3 000 printed journals and 450 databases.

Further information

Tue, 29 Mar 2016 13:04:16 +0200