Porous Media Physics

Porous Media Physics

Three researchers in the lab. One researcher is holding a laser. Photo

The Porous Media Physics section consists of two research groups: PoreLab and X-ray physics.


Research groups


Porous Media Laboratory (PoreLab - SFF/CoE)

PoreLab is a Norwegian Center of Excellence created in 2017 and situated at NTNU and the University of Oslo (UiO). It focuses on the physics of porous media using experimental, theoretical and computational methods. It is led by six principal scientists from physics, chemistry and reservoir engineering.

X-ray physics

Using advanced X-ray scattering techniques, we study a long range of functional and structural materials. The laboratory consists of two setups for X-ray scattering and diffraction, and one for X-ray imaging.