Research at the Department of Marine Technology

MARITIME INDUSTRY AND ENGINEERING. Our utilization of the sea has played a decisive role in increasing prosperity in Norway, both directly—though the resources we have harvested and the income earned; but also through the industries created by shipping operations and maritime activities. This significant value creation is based on knowledte and expertise, in which research is playing an increasingly important role.

THE OIL AND GAS EPOCH in Norway began in April 1965, when the first North Sea Continental Shelf grid areas were leased. The first discovery occurred a couple years later, and in 1971 production began on the Ekofisk-field, in the southern corner of the Norwegian sector. Today, Norway is the world's second largest oil exporter, after Saudi Arabia. In 1999 the value of oil exports was 168 billion, and accounted for approximately 15% of the nation's income.

is Norway's second largest export industry, after oil and gas. Our nation is one of the world's largest exporters of seafood, sending approximately 95% of all production abroad. Norway is also one of the biggest fish farming nations, specializing in the production of salmon and trout. Technological challenges still remain, tied to issues of efficiency and the environment.

Centres and infrastructure

Centre for Ships and Ocean Structures (CeSOS ): seeks to develop fundamental knowledge about how ships and other structures behave in the ocean environment, using analytical, numerical and experimental studies. This knowledge is vital, both now and in the future, for the design of safe, cost effective and environmentally friendly structures as well as in the planning and execution of marine operations.
» Web site: CeSOS

Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre (UTC):
Performance in a Seaway: Marine propellers must also perform well in rough weather. One might think this obvious, but the fact is that up until today propellers and propulsion systems have been designed for optimum performance in calm waters. Rough weather operations have been taken into account using only crude safety factors. In order to further understanding and provide the necessary tools for the rational design of propellers and propulsors in rough water operations, Rolls-Royce Marine, MARINTEK and NTNU have engaged in a ten-year research programme focusing on seaway performance.
» Website for UTC - Performance in a Seaway

Trondheim Marine Systems RI (Research Infrastructure): Through the Hydralab IV European project (FP7), European research groups are offered free transnational access opportunities to the NTNU Sletvik field station and Bay of Hopavågen. This natural environment is ideal for studying eco-hydrodynamics and transport processes relevant for marine chemists, biologists, physicists and geologists. Applications for access are evaluated on an annual basis.

AMOS Our vision is to establish a world-leading research centre in autonomous marine operations and systems: A lively scientific heart where fundamental knowledge is created through multidisciplinary theoretical, numerical and experimental research within the knowledge fields of hydrodynamics, structural mechanics, guidance, navigation and control. Cutting-edge inter-disciplinary research will provide the needed bridge to make high levels of autonomy a reality for ships and ocean structures, unmanned vehicles and marine operations, to meet the challenges related to greener and safer maritime transport, monitoring and surveillance of the coast and oceans, offshore renewable energy as well as oil and gas exploration and production in deeper and Arctic waters.



Sizeable projects and research programmes

CyberMar (Marie Curie Training Site):
Status = completed/finalized.
CYBERMAR was a multidisciplinary research and development program addressing the integration of mathematical modelling of marine structural dynamics and hydrodynamics, control engineering and information technology.

FPSO Operational Safety: considered are individuals, procedures, organisation and environment, or classified alternatively; equipment, people and management systems, all within the framework of culture and environment.
» more about FPSO Operational Safety

Hydroelastic effects and dynamic response of propellers and thrusters - HyDynPro
The project aims at finding the real dimensioning loads on the drive-train of azimuthing thrusters operating in extreme environmental loads, including large waves, propeller ventilation and ice. To integrate hydrodynamic loads and dynamic response of the drive-train of the thruster, a Multi-Body Simulation Model is applied. 
 » HydynPro webpage

Ship Propulsion in Extreme Seas - SeaPro
Status = completed/finalized.
The objective of the project was to develop knowledge and tools for optimisation of ships and ship propulsion systems for operation in heavy sea conditions, with respect to safety, reliability and efficiency.
» SeaPro webpage

Viscous Flow Around Ships and Other Marine Constructions: A Strategic University Program (SUP) focusing on Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) . The program is a collaboration involving several research environments at NTNU, the primary actors being: Marine Hydrodynamics (IMT), Fluids Engineering (EPT), and Applied Mathematics (IME and SINTEF).
» read about Marine CFD