European innovation partnership (EIP) on raw materials

European commision logoProfessor Daniel Beat Müller has been member of the operational Group of the EIP on raw materials. EIP is a stakeholder platform that brings together representatives from industry, public services, academia and NGOs. Its mission is to provide high-level guidance to the European Commission, EU countries and private actors on innovative approaches to the challenges related to raw materials.

Geography for Future Earth: Coupled Human-Earth Systems for Sustainability 

IGU-GFE logoProfessor Francesco Cherubini is member of the steering committee of Geography for Future Earth. IGU-GFE mission is to promote Geography for people to thrive in a sustainable and equitable world. The commission will seeks to build and connect knowledge to increase the impact of research, to explore new development paths, and contribute to achieving goals on global sustainable development by finding new ways to sustainable development.

IEA Bioenergy logo

IEA Bioenergy

Professor Francesco Cherubini is National Task Leader of the IEA Bioenergy Task 45 "Climate and Sustainability Effects of Bioenergy within the broader Bioeconomy".

The objective of Task 45 is to identify and address critical issues related to the climate and other sustainability effects of bioenergy and biobased products and systems. The aim is to promote sound development for bioenergy as an integral component of the overall bioeconomy. This objective will be achieved by providing analyses that support well-informed decisions by landowners, communities, businesses, governments and others. 

International society for Industrial Ecology logoInternational Society for Industrial Ecology

The International Society for Industrial Ecology (ISIE) promotes industrial ecology as a way of finding innovative solutions to complicated environmental problems, and facilitates communication among scientists, engineers, policymakers, managers and advocates who are interested in better integrating environmental concerns with economic activities. 

Professors Edgar Hertwich and Francesca Verones are members of the nominating committee of the society, and Anders Hammer Strømman of the conference committee.

Professor Edgar Hertwich is also the immediate past-president of ISIE

Professors Helge Brattebø, Daniel Beat Müller and Anders Hammer Strømman served as members of the society’s board.

Professors Richard Wood and Daniel Beat Müller served as chairs of Environmentally Extended Input Output and Socio-Economic Metabolism section.

UNECE logoUnited Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) 

Professor Daniel Beat Müller is member of the Expert Group on Resource Management

The Expert Group concentrates on the development and deployment of a United Nations Resource Management System (UNRMS) grounded in the United Nations Framework Classification for Resources (UNFC). The work will involve improving and further developing principles, specifications, guidelines, application protocols, best practices and case studies to support sustainable management of energy and raw materials within the UNFC and UNRMS framework in alignment with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and climate change mitigation.