The Board of NTNU

The Board is the highest governing body at NTNU and makes decisions on issues of principal importance. The Board is responsible for activities at the university and for ensuring that the university operates within the framework and guidelines stipulated by the Ministry of Education and Research, and the Storting. The Board decides the strategies, objectives and expected results from NTNU. It also presents the accounts, financial statements and budget proposals. The Board appoints the Rector.

The Rector is the Secretary to the Board and head of academic and administrative activities at NTNU. The Rector reports to the Board and represents NTNU on a day-to-day basis. The Rector is responsible for communications between the Board and the outside world regarding decisions passed by the Board.

There are 11 members of the Board. Three are from the academic staff at NTNU, one represents academic or research staff without tenure, and one represents the technical and administrative staff. There are also two student members of the Board and four external representatives (all from outside the university). The members are elected for a four-year term, except for the two student representatives and the representative for academic or research staff without tenure, who are elected for one year.

Board members 1 August 2013 – 31 August 2017

External representatives:

Svein Richard Brandtzæg (chair) | Randi Wenche Haugen | Karin Röding | Nils Kristian Nakstad

Internal representantatives:

Academic staff: Bjarne Foss | Kristin Melum Eide | Helge Holden

Students: Haakon Utby | Merete Falch

Temporary academic staff: Magnus Steigedal

Technical and administrative staff: Marit Grønning-Moe


Contact person:

Beate K. Reinertsen
Phone: (+47) 73 59 53 06
Fax: (+47) 73 59 80 90