Research at Department of Physics

Student Lise Ramlet Østli and PhD candidate Federico Mazzola examines samples in their research on the super-material graphene. Photo: Per Henning/NTNU

Researchers at Department of Physics work in most major branches of modern physics. The department consists of five divisions carrying out research within the fields of Applied physics, Complex materials, Condensed matter physics, Biophysics and medical technology and Theoretical physics.

In today's technological society, the development and proper use of materials is important, and a very significant research area is the physics of materials. We study superconductivity, inner structures and surface characteristics. Nanotechnology is central to several of these disciplines. In biophysics we address the study of biological molecules, the biophysics of plants, plants in weightless conditions, the physics of the human eye. In medical technology we use microscope techniques in the study of drug paths to diseased body cells. In environmental physics, we study the impact of atmospheric conditions on ultraviolet radiation at the earth surface, and work is done to develop improved solar cells.

Research groups

Division of Applied physics

Applied optics, electron and ion physics, laser physics, energy, atmospheric and environmental physics.

Division of Biophysics and medical technology

Biophysics is an interdisciplinary branch of science where methods and theories from physics are applied to study biological systems.

Division of Complex materials

Soft and complex matter studies, materials research using neutrons, biopolymers, nanostructured surfaces and theoretical physics.

Division of Condensed matter physics

Nanoscale structure studies and connection to macroscopic physical properties, experimental and theoretical condensed matter physics.

Division of Theoretical physics

Condensed matter theory and astroparticle physics. Physics described through theory and mathematical models.

PhD studies

Department of Physics offers organised research training in all of our research areas. There are also opportunities for writing a PhD thesis in cooperation with other departments and the industry. Both MSc in Physics and MSc in Technology in Applied Physics and Mathematics qualifies for a PhD programme in Physics.


The department has access to a broad spectrum of advanced, scientific equipment

More to come...

Fri, 22 Jan 2016 15:21:44 +0100


Centre for Molecular Imaging at NT (MINT)

Norwegian Research Centre for Solar Cell Technology (FME), New materials for next generation solar cells (WP4)

TEM Gemini Centre and The Norwegian Centre for Transmission Electron Microscopy (NORTEM)

Norwegian Centre for X-ray Diffraction, Scattering and Imaging (RECX)


EU-funded projects (European Commission)


The Research Council of Norway (NFR)


ERC grant