About the Department of Mental Health

About the Department of Mental Health

Autumn leaves at Campus Østmarka. Photo: Irene Aspli / NTNU


The Department of Mental Health (IPH) conduct research and education to increase our understanding of mental health, mental disorders, developmental disturbances, substance abuse, general rehabilitation, habilitation and child welfare.

The Department has knowledge and expertise on health promotion and treatment in a broad sense of the mental health field. We are dealing with basic research, applied research, epidemiology and clinical research in our fields of expertise. The close collaboration between St. Olavs hospital, municipal health services and central and local child welfare services creates appropriate conditions for clinical research. The department include a national national competence centre, National Institute on Intellectual Disability and Community,​​​​​​​ NAKU, and a Regional Centre for Child and Youth Mental Health and Child Welfare, RKBU Central Norway, with dedicated funding and tasks like support and quality enhancement of the public services. More on the research

Department of Mental Health educate Bachelor students in social education, master's and postgraduate students in mental health work and we educate medical- and doctoral students (PhD). We also offer training without credits for employees in the services. More on the education

We are about 170 employees and is part of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (MH) at Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). The Department of Mental Health is organized in research units and centres.

Research units

16 Apr 2021

SoMe, Department of Mental Health



​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Nanna Sønnichsen Kayed   Nanna Sønnichsen Kayed
   Head of Department​​​​​​​

  ​​​​​​ ​​​​​​​kontakt@iph.ntnu.no

  Employees

  Contact information and Management

  About us


Olav Kyrres gate 9, Medisinsk-teknisk forskningssenter 4. floor


Institutt for psykisk helse NTNU
NO-​​​​​​​7491 Trondheim, Norway

Study inquiries

  ​​​​​​​​​​​​studier@iph.ntnu.no

  Student guidance

Events and social media