About the Department

Department of Neuromedicine and Movement Science

About the Department

The Department of Neuromedicine and Movement Science (INB) comprises the medical specialties which investigates and treat injuries and diseases of the head, nervous system, sense organs, and musculoskeletal system. The department conducts teaching, research and innovation within these fields.

The department has about 180 employees, including academic as well as technical and administrative staff. The many disciplines that are represented in the department gives us unique opportunities for interdisciplinary research.

Our activities take place in close collaboration with St. Olavs University Hospital as well as the municipalities. There is also close cooperation with other basic research centres such as the Kavli Institute for Systems Neuro Science / Centre for Neuronal Computation.


The department is lead by Head of Department Jorunn L. Helbostad, Deputy Head Education Wenche Moe Thorstensen and Head of Office Torill Naavik.

Departmental groups

The department's many research groups and projects are organised in seven departmental groups:

Neurology and neurosurgery
Group leader: Morten Engstrøm

Geriatrics, movement and stroke (GeMS)
Group leader: Torunn Askim

Orthopaedics and rheumatology
Group leader: Marianne Wallenius

Ear-nose-throat, eye diseases and oral surgery
Group leader: Dordi Austeng

Professional studies: audiology, occupational therapy and physiotherapy
Group leader: Monica Lillefjell





   +47 73 59 20 20


  Studies: studier@inb.ntnu.no

  Management and administration


  About us

  • Visiting address: 3rd floor, Nevro Øst, Edvard Griegs gate 8, Trondheim

  • Postal address: NTNU, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, N-7491 Trondheim, Norway

Bilde INM